skip navigation

Laurendi Ties Record, but OKC Falls to Switchbacks

By George Darkow, 08/24/16, 11:15PM CDT


OKC shutout in rainy Colorado Springs

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Miguel Gonzalez scored for the second time this season against OKC Energy FC as the club fell 2-0 to Colorado Switchbacks FC Wednesday night at Switchbacks Stadium. OKC goal keeper Cody Laurendi tied an Energy FC club record with eight saves on the night. 

In the 29th minute of play, Gonzalez corralled a bounding ball near the high-left area of the Energy FC box and lofted a shot into the upper-right corner of the OKC net, past a leaping Laurendi, to give Colorado Springs the only goal it would need.

Playing on a Switchbacks Stadium pitch that absorbed nearly a half-inch of rain hours prior to kickoff, Energy FC was unable to find the back of the net for the fifth time in its last six matches.

Colorado Springs keeper Devala Gorrick made six saves on the night from six different Energy FC players. OKC's best chance came in the 64th minute when Kalen Ryden sent a cross into the box that Danni König headed on net, but Gorrick stoned the shot to preserve the Switchbacks' lead. 

OKC outshot Colorado Springs 9-5 in the second half, but was unable to score an equalizer. 

Switchbacks FC added another goal in second half stoppage time when Marty Maybin grabbed a loose ball in the OKC box and chipped a shot past a charging Laurendi. 

Laurendi's eight saves tied former OKC keeper Evan Newton's club record for saves in a game, set on June 20, 2015 against Sacramento and matched on Sept. 16, 2015 in Arizona. 

Energy FC finished the season series against Colorado Springs with two losses in two games. Last season, Energy FC won two of the three meetings between the clubs, including a USL Western Conference Semifinals matchup. 

OKC next returns home, where it faces in-state rival Tulsa Roughnecks FC in the final match between the two clubs in 2016. Energy FC has won all three previous meetings, outscoring Tulsa a combined 7-0. Kickoff is set for 8:00 p.m. CST on Saturday, August 27, at Taft Stadium.