skip navigation

Match Report: Road trip ends in 2-1 defeat at Indy

By Tyler Vaughn, 08/14/21, 8:00PM CDT


Lamar Batista scored in his first start for Energy FC, but Indy Eleven was able to find the back of the net twice to take all three points Saturday night at Carroll Stadium in Indianapolis.

The hosts struck first when Manuel Arteaga's reverse pass split the OKC defense, putting Nicky Law through on goal. An on-rushing CJ Cochran did well to cut down the angle, but Law was able to lift the ball over the goalkeeper in the 26th minute.

The Greens equalized through Oklahoma City’s own, Lamar Batista, just 10 minutes later. Deklan Wynne’s outswinging corner kick landed at the top of the six-yard box, and Batista rose highest to nod the ball into the back of the net and level the score heading into halftime.

Indy took the lead early in the second half and were able to hold on for the remainder of the match. Law’s cross from the right wing found Arteaga at the back post who connected with the header past Cochran in the 53rd minute.

Energy FC remains on 22 points and is in 6th place in the Central Division.

The Greens return home to Taft Stadium on Sunday, August 22 at 5 p.m. CT against Louisville City FC. That match’s theme is Supporters Night and will feature various activations to honor our incredible fans. Tickets are available at

Scoring Summary:

IND: Law (Arteaga), 26’

OKC: Batista (Wynne), 36’

IND: Arteaga (Law), 53’

Disciplinary Summary:

IND: Sissoko (Yellow Card), 10’

OKC: Adekoya (Yellow Card), 45’

IND: Arteaga (Yellow Card), 90+3”

IND: Wild (Yellow Card), 90+4’

OKC Starting XI: GK: CJ Cochran; D: Conor Donovan (c), Mitch Osmond, Deklan Lamar Batista (Irakoze Donasiyano, 76’); M: Zach Ellis-Hayden, Kodai Iida, Hiroki Kurimoto, Brad Dunwell (Tucker Stephenson, 76’); F: Seyi Adekoya (Jon Brown, 83’), 73’, Jaime Chavez (Frank Lopez, 56’), Villyan Bijev (Kodai Iida, 56’)

Subs not used: Kyle Ihn, Mueng Sunday

IND Starting XI: GK: Jordan Farr; D: Rece Buckmaster, Karl Ouimette, Neveal Hackshaw, A.J. Cochran; M: Jeremiah Gutjahr, Ayoze (Seagrist, 72’), Aboubacar Sissoko (Vassell, 72’), Nicky Law, Gordon Wild; F: Manuel Arteaga

Subs not used: Dick, Liu, Malic, Revolorio, Hamilton