skip navigation


By Energy FC & Canada Soccer Communications, 02/25/21, 9:45AM CST


Daniels is one of only two USL Championship players added to 50-player list.

One of Energy FC's offseason signings, winger Aidan Daniels, has been added to Canada Soccer's 50-player Provisional List ahead of the upcoming Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying.

The upcoming eight-nation tournament will take place from March 18-30 in Guadalajara, JA, Mexico, with two nations qualifying for the Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Canada faces El Salvador on March 19, Haiti on March 22 and Honduras on March 25 in Group B of the 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship. From the group phase, the top-two nations advance to the Concacaf Semifinals on March 28 against Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Mexico or USA. The two nations that win their Concacaf Semifinals qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and advance to the Concacaf Final on March 30.

Daniels started in all 16 matches for Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC in 2020, scoring three goals and recording one assist with an 84.2% passing accuracy. Daniels led the team in chances created (27) and was third in minutes played (1,288).

Daniels, a 22-year-old native of Markham, Ontario, Canada and product of the Toronto FC Academy, signed as a homegrown player with Toronto FC in 2018 and made his Major League Soccer debut a week later against Houston Dynamo FC. Daniels also appeared in the USL Championship for Toronto FC II and Ottawa Fury FC and has earned Canadian national team caps at the U-17, U-20 and U-23 levels.

The full, 50-player Provisional List:

Diyaeddine Abzi: CAN / York United FC

Theo Bair: CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Michael Baldisimo: CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Zorhan Bassong: CAN / CF Montréal

Clément Bayiha: CAN / CF Montréal

Zachary Brault-Guillard: CAN / CF Montréal

Sebastian Breza: ITA / Bologna

Charles-Andreas Brym: BEL / Royal Excel Mouscron

Tajon Buchanan: USA / New England Revolution

Terran Campbell: CAN / Pacific FC

David Choinière: CAN / Forge FC Hamilton

Kadin Chung: CAN / Pacific FC

Theo Corbeanu: ENG / Wolverhampton Wanderers FC

Derek Cornelius: CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Nikola Curcija: FRA / Le Havre AC

Aidan Daniels: USA / Oklahoma City Energy FC

Lucas Dias: POR / Sporting Lisbon

Julian Dunn: CAN / Toronto FC

Mohamed Farsi: CAN / Cavalry FC

Liam Fraser: CAN / Toronto FC

Marcus Godinho: GER / FSV Zwickau

Cristián Gutiérrez: CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Thomas Hasal: CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Malik Johnson: USA / Real Monarchs SLC

Jahkeele Marshall-Rutty: CAN / Toronto FC

Thomas Meilleur-Giguère: CAN / Pacific FC

Patrick Metcalfe: CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Callum Montgomery: USA / Minnesota United FC

Jayden Nelson: CAN / Toronto FC

Matthew Nogueira: POR / CS Maritimo

David Norman: N/A

Chrisnovic N’sa: CAN / York United FC

Noble Okello: CAN / Toronto FC

Easton Ongaro: CAN / FC Edmonton

James Pantemis: CAN / CF Montréal

Ben Paton: ENG / Blackburn U-23

Harry Paton: SCO / Ross County FC

Jordan Perruzza: CAN / Toronto FC

Ralph Priso: CAN / Toronto FC

Ryan Raposo: CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Antonio Rocco Romeo: CAN / Toronto FC

Jacob Shaffelburg: CAN / Toronto FC

Shamit Shome: CAN / FC Edmonton

Steven Simpson: ENG / Barnsley FC

Dayne St. Clair: USA / Minnesota United FC

Frank Sturing: NED / FC Den Bosch

Ballou Tabla: CAN / CF Montréal

Kris Twardek: POL / Jagiellonia

Noah Verhoeven: CAN / York United FC

Karifa Yao: CAN / Cavalry FC