skip navigation


By Energy FC Communications, 02/24/21, 10:45AM CST


Sam Howard becomes 21st player signed to the 2021 Energy FC roster.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Energy FC has signed goalkeeper Sam Howard, pending league and federation approval, Head Coach John Pascarella announced today. Howard joins OKC after spending the 2020 season with Union Omaha of USL League One.

Prior to his stint in Omaha, Howard was with Fresno FC of the USL Championship. Howard’s signing makes him the eighth current member of Energy FC to have previously been at Fresno FC, joining Arun Basuljevic, Jaime Chavez, CJ Cochran, Zach Ellis-Hayden, Hiroki Kurimoto, Seth Moses and Leigh Veidman.

“Once I realized coming to Oklahoma City was an opportunity, I jumped at it as quick as I could,” said Howard. “I view Oklahoma City Energy as one of the premier clubs in the USL. It’s definitely a standard bearer in the league, and hopefully we can bring success back with this strong core that’s coming together.”

Howard, a 28-year-old native of Washington, D.C., graduated from La Salle University in 2015 and spent a graduate year at Howard University. From 2016-17, he plied his trade with IFK Amal in Sweden, earning 16 clean sheets and 48 wins in 68 appearances. After trialing with Major League Soccer’s Chicago Fire prior to the start of the 2018 season, Howard signed with Fresno FC.

“One of the main reasons I like him is his ability to use his feet,” said goalkeepers coach Alexis Vizarelis. “He’s very calm in possession, he has the ability to build up and break lines, and he’s actually similar to me when I played! He’s quick, athletic, and reads the game very well.

“He’s also got a little chip on his shoulder and a lot to prove, which is something you want from all the goalkeepers. I think when people look at our club, they know our goalkeeping is always very strong, and we want to continue that good work.”

Howard joins goalkeepers CJ Cochran and Kyle Ihn, defenders Robert Coronado, Conor Donovan, Zach Ellis-Hayden, Atiba Harris, Mitch Osmond and Mueng Sunday, midfielders Arun Basuljevic, Brad Dunwell, Kodai Iida, Hiroki Kurimoto, Seth Moses and Charlie Ward, and forwards Jon Brown, Jaime Chavez, Aidan Daniels, Frank Lopez, Groutchov Pierre and Tucker Stephenson as the players currently under contract for OKC in 2021.

Energy FC begins its eighth season in 2021 with a schedule announcement forthcoming. More information regarding Season Seat Memberships and Group Experiences can be found at