skip navigation

Greens and Switchbacks Play to Scoreless Stalemate

By Tyler Vaughn, 09/05/20, 9:30PM CDT


A defensive battle led to a scoreless draw at Weidner Field in Colorado Springs Saturday night

The first half resulted in few chances for either side, but the Greens came closest to scoring. Nicolas Taravel towered above the defense to get on the end of Tucker Stephenson’s corner kick in the 30th minute. Unfortunately, the headed effort just skimmed off the top of the net from seven yards.

The second half wasn’t much different from the first with both defenses allowing little opportunity for the opposition’s attack.

After having a fairly quiet night, CJ Cochran made a big save to keep the match scoreless in the 86th minute. Rony Argueta’s blast from 30 yards looked set for the back of the net, but Cochran reacted quickly to make the stop to his right side.

The match ended on a sour note after Zach Ellis-Hayden was sent off in the ninth minute of added time. Things got heated between Colorado Springs forward Luke Ferreira and Ellis-Hayden, after the former refused to give up the ball in an attempt at time wasting. Ellis-Hayden then got in Ferreira’s face after being pushed, which led to Ferreira going to the ground and grabbing his face despite minimal contact being made.

Energy FC is now on eight points and remains in fourth place in Group D.

Next up for the Greens is the second Black Gold Derby of the season. OKC travels up the turnpike next Saturday, September 12 for a 7 p.m. CT kickoff against the rivals formerly known as the Tulsa Roughnecks. Tickets in the away section can be purchased here.

The last home match of the season is Sunday, September 27 at 5 p.m. Tickets are on sale now.

Scoring Summary:


Disciplinary Summary:

OKC: Hernandez, Yellow Card, 34’

COS: Argueta, Yellow Card, 89’

OKC: Taravel, Yellow Card, 90+2’

OKC: Ellis-Hayden, Red Card, 90+9’

OKC Starting XI: GK: CJ Cochran; D: Zach Ellis-Hayden, Christian Ibeagha (c), Nico Taravel, Joe Amico; M: Charlie Ward (Brad Dunwell, 44’), Jose Hernandez, Arun Basuljevic F: Tucker Stephenson, Jaime Chavez (Omar Gordon, 85’), Cordell Cato (Jonathan Brown, 54’)

Subs Not Used: Cody Laurendi, Mike da Fonte

COS Starting XI: GK: Sean Melvin; D: Gabe Robinson, Arturo Diz Pe, Everardo Rubio, Joan Cervos; M: Hiroki Kurimoto (c), Andre Lewis, Rony Argueta, George Lebese (Uvaldo Luna, 71’); F: Aidan Daniels, Christian Volesky (Luke Ferreira, 81’)

Subs Not Used: Abraham Rodriguez, Vladmir Walent, Abdul Rwatubyaye, Austin Dewing, Mamadi Camara