skip navigation

Energy FC drops first match since restart, 0-3 to New Mexico.

By Tyler Vaughn, 08/01/20, 9:15PM CDT


Missed chances and defensive errors cost Energy FC Saturday night at Taft Stadium, as New Mexico United handed the Greens their first loss since the restart.

The visitors took the lead in the 31st minute after Chris Wehan was slipped in behind the OKC defense and squared the ball across the penalty area for Amando Moreno to chest into the empty net.

New Mexico doubled the lead in third minute of first-half stoppage time in similar fashion to the opening goal. This time, Daniel Bruce was played into space behind the backline and was able to find Wehan unmarked on the back post for the simple finish.

The Greens started the second half on the front foot and were awarded a penalty after Arun Basuljevic was brought down in the box in the 48th minute. Up stepped Jaime Chavez, who sent Mizell the wrong way but missed just wide of the right post.

Halftime substitute Frank Lopez nearly scored his second goal off the bench in as many games when Jose Hernandez put him through on goal in the 56th minute, but his powerful, left-footed drive was palmed away by Mizell.

Arun Basuljevic almost found the back of the net from distance, but his 25-yard, dipping, swerving effort just missed high in the 72nd minute.

Lopez’s impact almost resulted in a goal again in the 74th minute. This time, he found himself behind the backline and fizzed a ball across the goal, but no one was able to get on the end of the cross.

Jaris Ahlinvi put the game out of reach in the 94th minute after his free kick hit the wall, and his first-time effort, off a fortunate rebound, snuck through traffic and past CJ Cochran.

With the loss, Energy FC remains in second in Group D on five points, at the time of writing.

The Greens are back at Taft Stadium on Saturday, August 8 against San Antonio FC at 7 p.m. Tickets are available at or by calling 235-KICK (5425).

Scoring Summary:

NM: Moreno, 31’ (Wehan)

NM: Wehan, 48’ (Bruce)

NM: Ahlinvi, 94’

Disciplinary Summary:

NM: Mizell, Yellow Card, 82’

OKC: Ibeagha, Yellow Card, 86’

OKC: Chavez, Yellow Card, 87’

OKC Starting XI: GK: CJ Cochran; D: Atiba Harris (c) (Frank Lopez, 46’), Nicolas Taravel, Christian Ibeagha (Vice Captain); M: Zach Ellis-Hayden, Charlie Ward, Rafael Garcia (Brad Dunwell, 83’), Arun Basuljevic, Jon Brown (Tucker Stephenson, 83’); F: Jaime Chavez, Jose Hernandez (Omar Gordon, 71’)

Subs Not Used: Cody Laurendi, Kyle Hyland, Joe Amico

NM Starting XI: GK: Cody Mizell; D: Austin Yearwood, Saalih Muhammad, Kalen Ryden, Josh Suggs (c); M: Juan Pablo Guzman, Andrew Tinari (Ryan Williams, 76’) Amando Moreno (Jaris Ahlinvi, 88’), Chris Wehan (David Estrada, 76’), Daniel Bruce (Rashid Tetteh, 70’); F: Romeo Parkes (Sammy Sergi, 70’)

Subs Not Used: Philipp Beigl, Rashid Tetteh