skip navigation

Energy FC 1, New Mexico United 3

By Tyler Vaughn, 09/08/19, 8:30PM CDT


Deshorn Brown scored his 12th goal of the season, but it wasn’t enough, as New Mexico United were able to find the back of the net on three occasions to leave Taft Stadium with all three points Sunday night.

New Mexico took the lead in the 11th minute when Santi Moar’s cross from the left wing was headed down by David Estrada towards Devon Sandoval. Sandoval was able to connect with an overhead kick from the top of the six-yard box and beat Cody Laurendi.

The visitors doubled the lead in the 16th minute, after Chris Wehan was fouled in the box by Mekeil Williams, and the referee awarded a penalty. Sandoval stepped up and converted to the lower right corner for his second goal of the night.

The Greens came close to their first goal in the 22nd minute. Rafael Garcia’s well-struck free kick from inside the D stung the palms of Cody Mizell, but the keeper was able to keep the hosts scoreless with a good save low and to his right.

Energy FC got back in the game in the 57th minute when Christian Eissele split the defense with a through ball from inside his own half that found Deshorn Brown. Brown took a touch before rifling a low, left-footed drive past Mizell from the top of the penalty area.

In the 71st minute, United restored their two-goal advantage. Daniel Bruce dribbled down the right flank, laid the ball off to Wehan at the top of the box, and the striker sidefooted past Laurendi.

Energy FC are on the road next Saturday, September 14 against San Antonio FC. Kickoff for that fixture is set for 7:30 p.m.

This Post-Match Report is presented by Southern Nazarene University. Learn more about SNU’s MASMA program here.

Scoring Summary:

NM: 0-1: Sandoval, 11’

NM: 0-2: Sandoval, 16’

OKC: 1-2: D. Brown, 57’

NM: 1-3: Wehan, 71’

Disciplinary Summary:

OKC: Yellow Card (Williams, 15’)

NM: Yellow Card (Tetteh, 21’)

NM: Yellow Card (Guzman, 45’)

NM: Yellow Card (Suggs, 73’)

OKC: Yellow Card (Garcia, 86’)

OKC: Yellow Card (Harris, 86')

OKC Starting XI: GK: Cody Laurendi; D: Mekeil Williams, Atiba Harris (c), Christian Ibeagha, Kyle Hyland; M: Callum Ross, Rafael Garcia, F: Jon Brown (Derek Gebhard, 77’), Omar Gordon, Deshorn Brown, Christian Eissele (Cordell Cato, 77’)

Subs Not Used: Bryan Byars, Max Gunderson

New Mexico United Starting XI: GK: Cody Mizell; D: Josh Suggs (c), Rashid Tetteh, Justin Schmidt, Manny Padilla; M: Sam Hamilton, Juan Guzman, Santi Moar (Ethen Sampson, 75’), David Estrada (Daniel Bruce, 63’); F: Devon Sandoval (Kevaughn Frater, 84’), Chris Wehan

Subs Not Used: Ethen Sampson, Ryan Williams, Ben Beaury, Tommy Madden, Ken Akamatsu